Skip to main content

Informatics leaders recognized for accomplishments in practice and research, health policy, nursing informatics, visionary and transformative thought leadership, and significant scholarly contribution.

The American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) is proud to announce the 2020 Signature Award and Leadership Award recipients. The leaders will be presented with their awards at the AMIA 2020 Virtual Annual Symposium, November 14-18.  

AMIA’s Annual Symposium is the largest informatics event worldwide, drawing more than 2,500 attendees. The Symposium presents leading-edge scientific research on biomedical and health informatics, and more than 150 scientific sessions. The work presented spans the spectrum of the informatics field: translational bioinformatics, clinical research informatics, clinical informatics, consumer health informatics and public health informatics.

The AMIA Signature Awards program provides an opportunity for AMIA members at different stages of their careers to be recognized for significant contributions to the field of informatics.

“It is my honor and privilege to recognize the significant contributions of these informatics leaders,” said Patricia C. Dykes, PhD, RN, FAAN, FACMI, AMIA Board Chair and Program Director of Research at the Brigham and Women’s Center for Patient Safety, Research, and Practice. “AMIA is a diverse and multidisciplinary organization, and these leaders continue to advance and transform health care through informatics in all of the work they do. We celebrate their exceptional accomplishments."  

AMIA Signature Awards

Donald A.B. Lindberg Award for Innovation in Informatics
Abel Kho, MD, FACMI
Northwestern University

Don Eugene Detmer Award for Health Policy Contributions in Informatics
Sarah Collins Rossetti, RN, PhD, FACMI, FAMIA
Columbia University

William W. Stead Award for Thought Leadership in Informatics
Alexa McCray, PhD, FACMI
Harvard Medical School

Virginia K. Saba Informatics Award
Judy Murphy, RN, FACMI, LFHIMSS, FAAN          

New Investigator Award
Yuan Luo, PhD, FAMIA
Northwestern University                       

AMIA Leadership Award

Daniel T. Wu, MD, FAMIA
For significant leadership in developing modeling for COVID medical assumptions and the impact on AMIA meetings.

The awards will be presented on Sunday, Nov. 15, at the AMIA Virtual Awards Gala. Proceeds support the AMIA Leadership and Education Award Donation (LEAD) Fund.


AMIA, the leading professional association for informatics professionals, is the center of action for 5,500 informatics professionals from more than 65 countries. As the voice of the nation’s top biomedical and health informatics professionals, AMIA and its members play a leading role in assessing the effect of health innovations on health policy and advancing the field of informatics. AMIA actively supports five domains in informatics: translational bioinformatics, clinical research informatics, clinical informatics, consumer health informatics, and public health informatics.