AMIA Doctoral Dissertation Award

AMIA recognizes the critical importance of fostering the development and discovery of new informatics science as well as the recognition and support of AMIA members who will grow the field and become the next generation of informatics leaders. This talent is nurtured in graduate and doctoral research programs.

The AMIA Doctoral Dissertation Award offers high-value and prestigious recognition for the top doctoral dissertation each year that contributes to the science of informatics in any biomedical application domain or domains.  In 2016 JAMIA published some suggested guidelines for the preparation of high-quality dissertations in biomedical informatics:
The organization and content of informatics doctoral dissertations

Award Prizes

Each of the two winners receives:

  • Cash award ($7500 for first prize, $2500 for honorable mention)
  • semi-plenary presentation on his/her award-winning research
  • Formal award presentation at the AMIA Annual Symposium
  • AMIA Annual Symposium registration waived
  • travel and accommodation stipend
  • publicity

2019 Winners (click on title to access the dissertation)

2018 Winners

2017 Winners

Funding for the Award

An endowment fund was created to support the Doctoral Dissertation Award in perpetuity.  AMIA is grateful to the Charter Donors who offered support for the fund in its formative period (between the AMIA Symposium in 2015 and March 2017).  The Campaign was chaired by Dr. Ted Shortliffe (who also offered a 1:1 match for all donations up to $100,000).  Additional donations can be made on the AMIA Central donation page.

Dissertation Award Selection Committee

The 2020 judging committee includes:

  • John H. Holmes (Chair), PhD, FACMI, University of Pennsylvania
  • Riccardo Bellazzi, PhD, FACMI, University of Pavia, Italy
  • Gretchen Purcell Jackson, MD, PhD, FACMI, Vanderbilt University and IBM Watson Health
  • Lucila Ohno-Machado, MD, PhD, FACMI, University of California San Diego
  • Omolola Ogunyemi, PhD, Charles Drew University of Medicine and Science
  • Edward H. Shortliffe, MD, PhD, FACMI, Columbia University, Arizona State University, and Weill Cornell Medical College
  • Peter Szolovits, PhD, FACMI,  Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Douglas Fridsma, MD, PhD, FACMI (ex officio), AMIA President
  • Jeff Williamson (ex officio), AMIA Vice President, Academic Affairs and Education

The web site for submission of 2020 nominations will be open in January.  Information about eligibility and judging criteria is available on the nominations page.  Nomination forms are also available on that page and may be downloaded for offline preparation of a nominations packet.  Just be sure that the final nomination materials are uploaded no later than January 31st.

Go to Nominations