• ACMI Fellowship

    ACMI is a college of elected Fellows from the U.S. and abroad who have made significant and sustained contributions to the field of medical informatics. It is the central body for a community of scholars and practitioners who are committed to advancing the informatics field.


ACMI Fellowship

ACMI (the American College of Medical Informatics) is a college of elected fellows who have made significant and sustained contributions to the field of biomedical informatics. Initially incorporated in 1984, the organization later dissolved its separate corporate status to merge with the American Association for Medical Systems and Informatics (AAMSI) and the Symposium on Computer Applications in Medical Care (SCAMC) when the American Medical Informatics Association was formed in 1989. The College now exists as an elected body of fellows within AMIA, with its own bylaws and regulations that guide the organization, its activities, and its relationship with the parent organization. The College is fiscally self-sufficient, and its officers prepare and submit its financial plan annually for approval by the AMIA Board of Directors.

ACMI Fellows are eligible to use the designation FACMI, indicating they are an elected Fellow of ACMI. Deserving informaticians from all countries are eligible for election to fellowship.

Nominations Closed:

Upcoming Elections Information:

Fellows of ACMI
Member at Large and E & N Committee Member

ACMI Meetings

ACMI Fellows convene throughout the year. Annually, fellows and their families participate in the American College of Medical Informatics’ Symposium. This is a four-day event starting on a Thursday evening and ending on a Sunday around noon, consisting of three days of four-hour morning sessions for plenary and breakout discussions, with afternoons and evenings dedicated to recreational and social activities. Past meetings can be viewed on the Meeting Archive page.


The College was initially created using an election process that assured that the founding fellows would be elected by their peers. Five individuals, Marsden S. Blois, Morris F. Collen, Donald A.B. Lindberg, Thomas E. Piemme, and Edward H. Shortliffe, prepared a ballot of over 100 names of leaders in the field and sent the ballot to all listed individuals. Nominees were asked to vote for 50 colleagues to become the founding fellows, and in this way the initial set of 52 fellows was selected (three individuals were tied for the fiftieth place). The founding fellows then incorporated, elected officers, and initiated a process through which the existing fellows nominate and elect new fellows. The number of fellows elected from the US and abroad is over 400, with approximately fifteen to twenty new fellows elected each year. Photographs of fellows elected through 1993 were published in the inaugural issue of JAMIA, the Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association, in January 1994, and each year's class of newly elected fellows is published in JAMIA.

In Memoriam: Thomas E. Piemme, MD, 1932-2021

Thomas E. Piemme, MD
Painting by Edi Matsumoto

Thomas E. Piemme, MD, one of the founding leaders of ACMI and AMIA, passed away on April 17, 2021, in Peoria, Ariz., near Phoenix. Tom grew up in Pennsylvania and attended college and medical school at the University of Pittsburgh, where he served as Chief Resident in Medicine under Jack Myers (of Internist-1 fame), who was chair of the department at that time. Tom later taught at Pitt for some years before moving to Washington, D.C., in 1970, to become director of the Division of General Medicine and subsequently Director and Associate Dean for Continuing Medical Education (CME) at the George Washington University School of Medicine. He became involved with the National Board of Medical Examiners and developed a strong interest in computer-based testing and in the role of computers in clinical education. Tom retired from GW in 1998 and moved, with his wife Judy, first to Ft. Lauderdale but soon thereafter to Sun City, Ariz. Read more here.

Morris F. Collen Award of Excellence

In honor of Morris F. Collen, a pioneer in the field, this prestigious award is the highest honor in informatics that is presented by the American College of Medical Informatics to an individual whose personal commitment and dedication to biomedical informatics has made a lasting impression on healthcare and biomedicine.

Recipients of the Collen Award are listed below from 1993 to the present day along with links to video tributes. Production of the official video began in 1997 courtesy of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Video tributes are archived as part of the NLM History of Medicine series. All videos can be accessed on the AMIA Informatics YouTube channel.