Clinical Informatics Fellowship Programs

AMIA Community of Clinical Informatics Program Directors (CCIPD)

The purpose of the Community of Clinical Informatics Program Directors (CCIPD) is to provide leadership to establish and maintain high standards of excellence in clinical informatics training programs. Training programs are defined as those approved by the Accreditation Council on Graduate Medical Education that lead to eligibility for subspecialty certification by the American Board of Preventive Medicine or the American Board of Pathology in Clinical Informatics. CCIPD will create an environment that encourages the development of ACGME­accredited fellowships in Clinical Informatics and supports the continued evolution of these programs. CCIPD will provide a forum for training programs, aspiring training programs, and other interested parties to exchange information and ideas to support these purposes.  The goals of the AMIA CCIPD are to: 

  • Lead programs that will facilitate the continued development and enhancement of the quality of instruction of training programs in Clinical Informatics;
  • Improve the communications between the faculty of clinical informatics training programs, create opportunities for training programs to share their experiences, and learn from each other and outside experts about best practices in clinical informatics training;
  • Make recommendations concerning content and management of fellow training and certification to the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME), the American Board of Preventive Medicine (ABPM), and the American Board of Pathology (ABP); and
  • Provide support for activities that encourage lifelong learning of graduates of these training programs.

If you are interesting in learning more or would like to join the AMIA CCIPD please contact AMIA.

The following programs are accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).

University of Arizona College of Medicine - Phoenix Clinical Informatics Fellowship Program

ACGME Program #1390314001

Clinical Informatics Fellowship
Program Director: Hamed Abbaszadegan, MD, MBA, FACP
Email: habbaszadegan@email.arizona.edu
Program Coordinator: Dulcinea Juarez
Email: COMPHX-DBMI@email.arizona.edu
Phone: (602) 827-2567
Application: http://phoenixmed.arizona.edu/bmi/education/fellowship

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

ACGME Program #1392414001

Division of Clinical Informatics
Brookline, MA
Program Director: Charles Safran, MD
Email: csafran@bidmc.harvard.edu
Program Coordinator: Ava Atkinson
Email: aatkinso@bidmc.harvard.edu

Boston Children’s Hospital Clinical Informatics Fellowship

ACGME Program #3222432001

Clinical Informatics Fellowship
Boston, MA
Program Director: Jonathan Hron, MD
Email: Jonathan.hron@childrens.harvard.edu
Program Coordinator: Tery Noseworth
Email: tery.noseworthy@childrens.harvard.edu
Phone: (617) 355-3396
Application: www.childrenshospital.org/clinician-resources/education-and-training/clinical-informatics-fellowship/apply

Case Western Reserve University - Center for Education and Training in Health Informatics (CETHI)

ACGME Program #1393814001

Clinical Informatics Fellowship
Program Director: David Kaelber, MD, PhD, MPH, FACMI
Email: david.kaelber@case.edu
Program Coordinator: Gail Smilnak
Email: gsmilnak@metrohealth.org
Phone: (216) 778-2882
Application: http://gme.metrohealth.org/clinical-informatics

The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

ACGME Program #3224132001

Clinical Informatics Fellowship
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Program Director: Anthony Luberti, MD
Email: luberti@email.chop.edu
Program Coordinator: Mark Diltz, EdD, MBA, MS
Email: diltz@email.chop.edu
Phone: (267) 426-2775
Application: www.chop.edu/pediatric-fellowships/clinical-informatics-fellowship#.V1mT...

Columbia University Medical Center/New York-Presbyterian Hospital

ACGME Program #1393514002

Department of Biomedical Informatics
Clinical Informatics Fellowship
New York, NY
Program Director: George Hripcsak, MD, MS
Email:  hripcsak@columbia.edu
Associate Program Director: Bruce Forman, MD
Email:  bhf4@columbia.edu
Program Coordinator:  Marina Bonanno
Email:  mmb2058@cumc.columbia.edu
Application: https://app.smarterselect.com/programs/32495-Columbia-University

David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA and UCLA Health

ACGME Program #1390514001

Clinical Informatics Fellowship
Los Angeles, California
Program Director: Douglas Bell, MD, PhD
Email: DBell@mednet.ucla.edu
Program Coordinator: Kevin Baldwin, MPH, CPHIMS
Email: CIFellowship@mednet.ucla.edu

Duke University School of Medicine

ACGME Program #1393614002

Duke Clinical Informatics Fellowship Program
Eric Poon, MD MPH
Eric.poon@dm.duke.edu
Application: www.dukemmci.org/admissions/application

Geisinger Health System

ACGME Program #1394114002

Division of Applied Research and Clinical Informatics
Clinical Informatics Fellowship Program
Danville, Pennsylvania
Program Director: Bruce Levy, MD
Email: blevy2@geisinger.edu
Associate Program Director: Shravan Kethireddy, MD
Email: skethireddy@geisinger.edu
Program Coordinator: Melissa S. Erb
Email: merb1@geisinger.edu
Phone: (570) 214-4026
Application: www.geisinger.edu/education/medical-education/clinical-informatics-fellowship

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

ACGME Program #1393514001

Program Director: Joseph Kannry, MD
Email: joseph.kannry@mountsinai.org
Program Coordinator: Brenda Abreu
Email: Brenda.Abreu@mountsinai.org
Phone: (212) 824-7425
Application: http://icahn.mssm.edu/education/residencies-fellowships/list/msh-clinica...

Madigan Healthcare System

ACGME Program # 1225412001

Tacoma, WA
Program Director: Eric Shry, MD
Program Coordinator: Elisa Bickett
Email: elisa.l.bickett.civ@mail.mil
Phone: (253) 968-5958

Massachusetts General Hospital

ACGME Program #3022430001

Department of Pathology
Boston, MA
Program Director: Anand S Dighe MD, PhD
Program Coordinator: Trina Pappadia
Email: tpappadia@mgh.harvard.edu
Phone: (617) 643-4397
Program Coordinator: John Gilbertson
Email: JRGilbertson@partners.org
Phone: (617) 643-8266

The Ohio State University and Nationwide Children’s Hospital Clinical Informatics Fellowship

ACGME Program #1393814002

Columbus, Ohio
Department of Family Medicine, College of Medicine, Ohio State University
Program Director: Jeffrey Hoffman, MD
Email: jeffrey.hoffman@nationwidechildrens.org
Program Coordinator: Whitney Brumley, MS
Email: whitney.brumley@osumc.edu
Phone: (614) 293-0669
Application: http://familymedicine.osu.edu/26843.cfm

Oregon Health & Science University School of Medicine

ACGME Program #1394014001

Department of Medical Informatics & Clinical Epidemiology
Portland, Oregon
Clinical Informatics Fellowship
Program Director: Vishnu Mohan, MD, MBI
Email: mohanv@ohsu.edu
Program Coordinator: Andrea Ilg
Email: ilgan@ohsu.edu

Regenstrief Institute, Inc.

ACGME Program #1111711001

Center for Biomedical Informatics
Indianapolis, Indiana
Clinical Informatics Fellowship
Program Director: John T. Finnell, MD MSc FACEP
Email: jfinnell@regenstrief.org
Program Coordinator: Deb Faust
Email: dkfaust@regenstrief.org
Phone: (317) 274-9000

Stanford School of Medicine

ACGME Program #32205040001

Department of Pediatrics
Stanford, California
Clinical Informatics Fellowship
Program Director: Jonathan Palma, MD, MS
Email: JPalma@stanfordchildrens.org
Program Coordinator: Meghan Stawitcke
Email: meghans4@stanford.edu
Phone: (650) 724-9954
Application: http://systemsmedicine.stanford.edu/education/CI-Fellowship.html

University at Buffalo

ACGME Program #3023530001

State University of New York
Clinical Informatics Fellowship
Buffalo, NY
Program Director: Peter L. Elkin, MD
Email:  elkinp@buffalo.edu
Phone: (716) 888-4854
Program Coordinator: Cheryl Kennedy, MS
Email: CLK2@buffalo.edu
Phone: (716) 888-4847
Application: http://www.smbs.buffalo.edu/biomedicalinformatics/education-fellows.php

University of California, Irvine

ACGME Program #1110511001

Program Director: Dr. Scott Rudkin, MD
Email: srudkin@uci.edu
Program Coordinator: Jessica Holland
Email: jmhollan@uci.edu; phammd1@uci.edu
Phone: (716) 888-4847
Application: www.emergencymed.uci.edu/Education/clinical_informatics.asp

University of California, San Diego

ACGME Program #1110511002

Clinical Informatics Fellowship
Program Director: James Killeen, MD
Email: jkilleen@ucsd.edu
Program Coordinator: Rosa Longacre
rlongacre@ucsd.edu
Phone: (619) 543-6463

University of California, San Francisco

ACGME Program # 1390514002

UCSF Clinical Informatics Fellowship
San Francisco, CA
Program Director: David Avrin, MD, PhD
Email: David.Avrin@ucsf.edu
Phone: 415-476-4796
Program Coordinator: Sherry Chen
Email: Sherry.Chen@ucsf.edu
Phone: (415) 514-4539
Program Coordinator: Sue Sheehan
Email: sue.sheehan@ucsf.edu
Phone: (415) 502-5516
Application: http://hospitalmedicine.ucsf.edu/fellowship/clinicalinformatics.html

University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine

ACGME Program #3021638001

Chicago, Illinois
Clinical Informatics Fellowship
Program Director: Tushar Patel, MD
Email: tpatel78@uic.edu
Program Coordinator: Beverly Tousana
Email: btousana@uic.edu
Phone: (312) 413-1790
Application: http://pathology.uic.edu/clinical-informatics-fellowship

University of New Mexico

ACGME Program #1393414001

Clinical Informatics Fellowship
Program Director: Philip Kroth, MD, MS
Email: pkroth@salud.unm.edu
Phone: 505-272-6937

University of Washington School of Medicine

ACGME Program #1225412003

Department of Biomedical Informatics and Medical Education
Clinical Informatics Fellowship
Seattle, WA
Program Director: Michael G. Leu, MD, MS, MHS
Email: mgl27@uw.edu
Program Coordinator: Lora Brewsaugh
Email: bimecif@uw.edu
Phone: (206) 616-0369
Application: www.bhi.washington.edu/cif-application

Vanderbilt University Department of Biomedical Informatics

ACGME Program # 0444704001

Clinical Informatics Fellowship
Nashville, TN
Program Director: Christoph U. Lehmann, MD
Email: christoph.u.lehmann@vanderbilt.edu
Program Coordinator: Elisabeth Hudson
Email: elisabeth.hudson@vanderbilt.edu
Phone: (615) 936-7616

Washington University School of Medicine

ACGME Program #3222832001

Clinical Informatics Fellowship Program
St. Louis, Missouri
Program Director: Ronald Jackups, MD, PhD
Email: rjackups@wustl.edu
Program Coordinator: Andrea Krussel
Email: krussela@wustl.edu
Phone: (314) 273-1676

Yale/VA Clinical Informatics Fellowship Program

ACGME Program #1110811001

Clinical Informatics Fellowship Program
New Haven, CT
Program Director: Edward Melnick, MD, MHS
Email: edward.melnick@yale.edu
Program Coordinator: Dena Blancato
Email: denamarie.blancato@yale.edu
Application: https://medicine.yale.edu/emergencymed/fellowships/informatics