AMIA Announces 2016 Signature Award Recipients

Thursday, September 1, 2016

Informatics leaders recognized for accomplishments in practice and research, health policy, nursing informatics, visionary and transformative thought leadership, and significant scholarly contribution.

(BETHESDA, MD) – The American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) is proud to announce this year’s Signature Award recipients. The following leaders will receive their awards at the AMIA 2016 Annual Symposium, taking place Nov. 12 – 16 in Chicago.

The symposium draws 2,500 attendees for an event featuring 600+ papers, panels and posters. The AMIA Signature Awards program provides an opportunity for AMIA members at different stages of their careers to be recognized for significant contributions to the field of informatics.

"It is a privilege to honor these remarkable leaders in informatics," said AMIA Chair, Thomas Payne, MD, FACP, FACMI, of the University of Washington. "We celebrate their pursuit of excellence, exceptional accomplishments, and commitment to AMIA’s mission."

AMIA Signature Awards

Donald A.B. Lindberg Award for Innovation in Informatics

Burke Mamlin, MD
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine, Indiana University School of Medicine; Research Investigator, Center for Biomedical Informatics - Regenstrief Institute; OpenMRS Co-Founder

Paul Biondich, MD, MS, FACMI
Associate Professor of Pediatrics - Children’s Health Services Research, Indiana University School of Medicine; Director, Global Health Informatics - Center for Biomedical Informatics - Regenstrief Institute; OpenMRS Co-Founder

Don Eugene Detmer Award for Health Policy Contribution in Informatics

Mark E. Frisse, MD, MS, MBA, FACMI
Accenture Professor and Vice Chair, Business Development, Department of Biomedical Informatics, Vanderbilt University

Virginia K. Saba Informatics Award

Patricia C. Dykes, PhD, RN, FAAN, FACMI
Assistant Professor of Medicine, Brigham and Women's Hospital

William W. Stead Award for Thought Leadership in Informatics

Isaac S. Kohane, MD, PhD, FACMI
Chair, Dept of Biomedical Informatics, Harvard Medical School

New Investigator Award

Nicholas P. Tatonetti, PhD
Herbert Irving Assistant Professor of Biomedical Informatics, Columbia University

Tickets to the AMIA Leadership Dinner where the awards will be presented on November 12 are available through November 4. Proceeds support the AMIA Leadership and Education Award Donation (LEAD) Fund.


AMIA, the leading professional association for informatics professionals, is the center of action for 5,000 informatics professionals from more than 65 countries. As the voice of the nation’s top biomedical and health informatics professionals, AMIA and its members play a leading role in assessing the effect of health innovations on health policy, and advancing the field of informatics. AMIA actively supports five domains in informatics: translational bioinformatics, clinical research informatics, clinical informatics, consumer health informatics, and public health informatics.