AMIA Board of Directors and Working Group Elections are Open

The 2018 Election ballots are being presented.

Eligibility to Vote

If you are eligible to vote, you should have already received an e-mail from Votenet Solutions, Inc. with instructions on how to cast your vote.  Please check your SPAM folder for mail from the sender.  The online voting site is now open and contains biographical information submitted by each nominee. The election site closes on Sunday, October 28, 2018 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

Board of Directors: AMIA’s regular, retired and life members in good standing are eligible to vote.

Working Groups: All members of each working group (including students) are eligible to vote in Working Group elections.

Board Chair-elect and Board Chair

The Chair-elect is an officer of AMIA and serves in that role for 1 year. The Board Chair is the principal officer of AMIA and the serves in that role for 2 years. Both positions require nominees to be a member of AMIA in good standing who has demonstrated commitment, active service and leadership, is committed to furthering AMIA’s mission and vision, and will have served previously as a member of the AMIA Board of Directors. Term of office for Chair-elect is January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2019.  Term of office for Board Chair is January 1, 2020 through December 31, 2021.

CHAIR-ELECT nominees (one chair-elect will be elected):

Theresa Cullen
Patricia Dykes

Board Director

The Board of Directors is the principal policy making body of AMIA and is responsible for AMIA’s strategic plan. A successful board member is supportive of AMIA’s mission and speaks knowledgeably about AMIA and informatics. S/he is an active and visible member of AMIA and the informatics community. The Board is accountable to AMIA’s members. Directors serve a three-year term and may be elected to serve two consecutive terms. Term of office for four Directors is January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2021.

DIRECTORS nominees (four directors will be elected):

Gretchen Purcell Jackson
Philip Payne
Wanda Pratt
S. Trent Rosenbloom
Umberto Tachinardi
Victoria Tiase
Adam Wright
Li Zhou

Working Group Elections

If you are eligible to vote in a working group election, you will see the ballot(s) upon logging into the election site.

Election Results

Official election results will be announced during the State of the Association Meeting held in conjunction with the AMIA 2018 Annual Symposium on November 6th in San Francisco, CA. 

Thank you for your thoughtful consideration of these candidates.

Please contact Phyllis Burchman, Director of Office Operations and Human Resources, with any questions at or 301-657-1291.